God is in the details and in the people He works through

Stories on how I know Jesus was there all this time

Hi Soul 🌻 

I pray that this longer letter and the stories I share would serve as a reminder that God is working, even when it seems like things are moving slow.

âťť

We wanna have slow feet, slow plans
Steadfast in patience
Rid us of our quickness
We’ll be soon to listen
And it seems as though the slower I go
The faster I arrive.

Slower I Go - Live by SEU Worship, Chelsea Plank

Grandma’s spare bedroom

I am writing to you from my grandma’s spare bedroom in Lillestrøm outside of Oslo, Norway.

There are family pictures hanging on the walls, memories of past family dinners, passed loved ones, and antique objects that have stood the test of time that I have seen all the way growing up.

These four walls have seen me as an atheist, as a new ager, and now as a Christian. What a journey.

The tiny black psalm book

There’s nothing of Jesus to be found in this house, except a tiny black psalm book with Jesus on the cover and gold pages, stored away in the living room cabinet.

I vividly remember opening the book and looking through it as a child, wondering what it was. However, no one really had faith and could tell me what it was about.

Today I asked my grandma about the story of it, and she said that my grandpa bought it at an auction because he thought it was “beautiful”. Little did He know, beyond his life, that I would hold it in my hands and reading it as a redeemed Christian.

Front of the Psalm book I found in my grandma’s cabinet, from the 1800s.

My grandma is asking me, “Are you religious now?” I say “Yes, and I have a relationship with Jesus.” Through sharing my story with her about how I always was seeking truth, the conversation can go deeper. I can point her to the psalm book in her living room cabinet and tell her how God has been pursuing me ever since I was a little child, it just took me some time to add up the details of how He revealed His love for me.

The book has prayers in it, among them prayers for each morning and evening.

Subscribe to keep reading

This letter is free, but you must be subscribed to The Sunflower Selah to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.